Sunday, 29 April 2012

Loss - Jackie Morse Kessler

Title: Loss
Author: Jackie Morse Kessler
Publisher: Graphia
Date of publication: 20th of March 2012
Pages: 251
Series: Riders of the apocalypse
Format: Paperback
Source: Library
Also known for: Hunger, Rage.
Rating: 4

Loss is the third installment of the Riders of the apocalypse quartet and focuses on Pestilence. Billy is a bullied fifteen year old who is suffocating in his life. He has to deal with his feelings for his best friend Marianne, the bullies at school and his shattered home life where he is regularly stuck taking care of his Grandfather who suffers from Alzheimer's. Then one day Death comes for him because it turns out that Billy made a deal with Pestilence when he was five. He promised that he would wear the crown when the time came. As this bullied teenager struggles to come to terms with his new responsibilities he doesn't realise that he may be all that stands in the way of the end of the world.

I love this series. Each book deals with a relevant and difficult issue. I loved Billy and from page one and my love for him grew with each page as he developed and grew into a stronger more confident person. The storyline was fantastic and original. I have no unfulfilled wishes for this book. Perfection. I cannot wait for the last book - Breathe as it features my favourite character - Death. 

Saturday, 28 April 2012

Hollow Pike - James Dawson

Title: Hollow Pike
Author: James Dawson
Publisher: Indigo
Date of publication: 2nd of February 2012
Pages: 314
Format: Paperback
Source: Library
Rating: 4

Lis London has moved to a new town to escape her past in Wales. She has a whole new wardrobe and a new outlook on life. She is surprised when the most popular girl in school takes her under her wing but she cannot help but be drawn to a group of misfits. Word around school is that they are witches but Lis doesn't believe in them. Does she? When a student turns up murdered, she soon realises that the nightmares that have plagued her could be warnings and that someone might actually be trying to kill her.

I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I read it on a dark stormy night and have decided that this is the perfect book to read on such an occasion. It had mystery, horror, romance... everything. I loved Lis and her new friends, they were colourful and did not lie flatly on the page. The ending was totally unexpected! I'm rarely blind-sided.  Read this one if you have the chance!

Poison Heart - S.B. Hayes

Title: Poison Heart
Author: S.B. Hayes
Publisher: Quercus books
Date of publication: 1st of March 2012
Pages: 352
Format: Paperback
Source: Library
Rating: 3.5

‘I’m everything you’re not and I’m going to take over your life… I’m your worst nightmare.’

Katy is convinced that a girl she had seen on a bus is following her every move. She believes that she is stalking her. Katy's life is almost perfect. She is dating the boy of her dreams and has great friends but that all changes when Genevieve turns up. She starts to flirt with her gorgeous new boyfriend and has turned her friends against her. What does she want? Why does she hate Katy so much? With the help of her childhood friend Luke who is a reporter she goes on a journey to discover what Genevieve wants but what she discovers will change everything forever.

This was a great psychological thriller. I thought that Genevieve had a certain vulnerability to her that stopped the reader from completely disliking her. Katy was a strong character who did not give up without a fight. Great characters overall.

This was not unpredictable but I was still impressed by some of the plot twists just the same.

Tuesday, 24 April 2012

Forbidden - Syrie James & Ryan M. James

Title: Forbidden
Author(s): Syrie James & Ryan M. James
Publisher: Harper Teen
Date of publication: 24th of January 2012
Pages: 410
Series: possibly?
Format: Paperback
Source: Library
Rating: 4

I was immediately entranced by Forbidden's beautiful cover. I love it.   Thankfully the story was just as engaging. While the story is told in third person, each chapter alternatives in perspective.

Claire Brennan goes to Emerson Academy where she works hard to maintain a high grade point average in order to retain her scholarship.  She has two great friends - Brian and Erica and has a huge crush on Neil, a fellow classmate. When Alec turns up with his good looks and Scottish accent her world changes.

As she begins to have visions of the future, Alec's secrets come to the surface and the love they begin to feel for one another becomes more and more forbidden and dangerous.

Overall this book had a fresh perspective on Angels (yep, its about angels if you hadn't already deduced from the cover =P). This is the first in a possible trilogy, it all depends on whether they will be signed on for a further two books, which I think the duo will be. The story has real possibility to develop further and become even better. I liked both Claire and Alex as characters, though I thought that they fell in 'love' way too quickly. I look forward to reading more about Claire and Alex and finding more about this exciting new world.

Review also seen on:

Sunday, 22 April 2012

Croak - Gina Damico

Title: Croak
Author: Gina Damico
Publisher: Graphia
Date of publication: 20th of March 2012
Pages: 311
Series: Croak
Format: Softcover
Also known for: Scorch
Source: Library
Rating: 4

Croak is the first installment of a fresh new series. Lexington Bartleby is a right little terror. She is known for her volcanic temper and her violent inclinations. Facing expulsion her parents decide to send their wayward daughter to her mysterious Uncle Mort who lives in the country. Soon she discovers that everyone in the town of Croak is in the death business. Lex finds her calling and relishes her new role as a reaper.

This was a deliciously dark humorous novel. I absolutely loved Uncle Mort and the rest of the colourful supporting cast.  While I did not love this novel, I thoroughly enjoyed devoting a day to this wonderful world.

Saturday, 21 April 2012

Don't breathe a word - Holly Cupala

Title: Don't breathe a word
Author: Holly Cupala
Publisher: Harper Teen
Date of publication: 3rd of January 2012
Number of pages: 299
Format: Paperback
Also known for: Tell me a secret.
Source: Library
Rating: 4.5

Don't breathe for me is a incredibly powerful and raw novel. It's sheer realism can be brutal and upsetting but it is done tenderly. The story revolves around Joy who is in a abusive relationship with her boyfriend Asher. She is suffocating both physically from her asthma and emotionally. Finally she has had enough and runs away in order to find the homeless boy who had offered her help upon witnessing Asher's controlling and abusive behaviour. He seems to be the only one who can really see her. She quickly discovers that street life is very difficult and Creed the homeless boy is none to pleased to see her.

Holly does not shy away from the realities of street life and it really pulled at my heart. I cared so much for the vulnerable teens at the center of this story. It really made me want to go out and volunteer at a shelter. Joy's tender relationship with Creed was wonderful and a pleasure to read. This book does address a number of issues that homeless teens face - sexual assault, physical assault, prostitution, drug addiction, hunger, illness and desperation. These teens are invisible. No one can see them, or people are quick to assume and label them with stereotypes. Absolutely must read if you like hard hitting but compassionate books.

Review also seen on:

Scattering like light - S.C Ransom

Title: Scattering like light
Author: S.C Ransom
Publisher: Nosy Crow
Date of Publication: 1st of January 2012
Number of pages: 287
Format: Paperback
Series: Small blue thing
Also known for: Small blue thing and Perfectly reflected
Source: Library
Rating: 4.5

Scattering like light is the final book in the small blue thing trilogy and by far the best with regards to certain aspects. If you haven't read this trilogy, I highly recommend it. It is a sweet and lovely story about a girl who finds a bracelet in the Thames and finds herself able to communicate with a spirit - Dirge - who must steal the happy memories of strangers in order to stave of madness. Finally Alex thinks she may have a chance to save Callum, the boy she loves from his horrible fate. A new character is introduced - Max - who makes Alex think long and hard about her future relationship with Callum. If she can't save him then how can they be together? I know some readers may have been displeased with Max but I thought he was necessary for Alex to really question her feelings and relationship with Callum. I think that their relationship became all the more stronger.

There are some answers! Yay. Some of the plot twists caught me completely off guard which was certainly a surprise because this is a generally predictable kind of series. I think readers will be satisfied. I was sad to see the end of this series as I had really come to love Alex and Callum. I'm pleased with the way it ended.

Review also seen on: